Hawke's Bay

Hawke's Bay is New Zealand's oldest and second largest wine region with beginnings in 1851.

It is the largest premium red wine producing region in the country with over 80% of the national vintage for both Cabernet Merlot and Syrah. Chardonnay and Cabernet Merlot varieties make up 50% of the total annual vintage. Approximately 50% of the vintage is white wine and 50% red wine.

Main City

Napier and Hastings


Hawke's Bay

Located at 39.4° South (the same as Madrid in the North), Hawke’s Bay is one of the hottest and sunniest areas of New Zealand. A maritime climate, free draining soil types with natural low fertility, prevailing hot dry north westerly winds, low rainfall and a long growing season provide for a range of of vineyard sites suitable for a diversity of varieties. Over 25 different soil types make up the 4,947 wine producing hectares in Hawke's Bay.

Hawke's Bay has the highest percentage of Sustainable Winegrowing NZ (SWNZ) accredited wineries in the country. Of the 172 vineyards in the region, 70% are SWNZ accredited. Hawke's Bay is committed to this independently audited sustainability programme and these numbers will increase.

Combining new world fruit flavours with old world structure, Hawke’s Bay red wines are unique and elegant. Competitive in quality to world class red wines everywhere and competitive in price against the ultra premium wines of the world, Hawke’s Bay has grown to be the home of over 80 wineries and 170 wine grape growers. History, consistency, diversity and innovation continue to provide the foundation for Hawke’s Bay’s reputation as a quality producer of world class wines.

*photo credit Supernatural Wine, Hawkes Bay